Skip to content

MinnPost Article about South’s Mural Dedication

September 5, 2012

Thank you to MinnPost’s Beth Hawkins for bringing attention to s.t.a.r.t.’s co-hosting of South’s mural dedication:   s.t.a.r.t. co-hosted the event because the mural complements our beliefs and values of honoring our ancestors, our history and our efforts to make meaning of our cultural past.  The mural, “We the People,” reflects how far we’ve come, dark detours on the way, and how role models like art instructor Denny Sponsler, hip-hop artist Brother Ali and engaged peers can lift us from our apathy to engage in our democracy courage and awareness.

Special thanks to the mural team members:

Gustavo Lira (Muralist)   Greta McLain (Muralist) Shannon McEvoy (Muralist)

Denny Sponsler  Samie Johnson  Alec Trelstad  Lamia Abukhadra  Elliot Bosveld Angelo Kelvakis  Shana Crawford  Marisa Skelley  Daisy Whitney  Quinn Lee  Raven Catarra  Hamsa Aziz   Seamus Hawley   Gabe Stellar   Brian Noyed   Tessa Belo   Mose McLain    Sinjun Strom   Gustavo Ruiz   Jack Riggins   Eva McCauley   Cayla Roberts   Meg Ruddy   Eleanor Noble   Carson Backhus  Guanani  Gomez Van Cortright

And also these contributors:

Little Earth Drum Group;   Brother Ali; Rose McGee; Brotherhood Brew; s.t.a.r.t. Founders Felicia Johnson and Freesia Towle; s.t.a.r.t. Co-Chairs, Sara Osman and Saida Mahamud; Midtown Market’s  Manny’s Tortas, Holy land and Café Finspång.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: